Staff and Board of Elders

Reverend Sharon Amstutz, Interim Pastor

Sharon has called the Tri-Cities home since the late 1980s, when she came to 1st Presbyterian Church, Kingsport to do a -month seminary internship and a young engineer at Eastman won her heart.  Trained in Denver and Knoxville as a hospital chaplain, she has worked for the Bristol Regional Medical Center, and later went on to serve in pastoral roles in several churches in Holston Presbytery, and lead the work of an ‘urban’ ministry.  The common thread throughout her varied resume is a ministry to those at a moment of crisis or crossroads in their lives.  She and her husband, Jim, have two children in their 20s and a very spoiled dog, Scout.  She loves to bake and once this pandemic is over she will probably bring goodies to you when she visits.

Terry Beckman, Financial Secretary

Terry was born in Johnson City and has lived in the
area most of her life. She graduated from Hyles-Anderson Christian College in Crown Point, Indiana. Terry has been Financial Secretary for WAPC since 2005.

Terry and her husband Dave have been married for 35 years and live in Kingsport. The Beckman’s have two children and six grandchildren. Terry is an active member of Mt. Zion Baptist Church where she shares her deep faith by teaching Sunday school for both adults and children.

Terry is in the WAPC office on Mondays and Tuesdays. She spends the rest of her time enjoying her children and grandchildren, all of whom live in the Tri-Cities area. Her grandkids have voted her Best. Grandma. Ever.

Stephen Patrick, Church Secretary/Office Administrator

Stephen is a native of Memphis, Tennessee and holds a BA in Art and Art history and a MSLS degree in Library Science. Stephen worked as a film and government documents librarian in Greenville, South Carolina, and later as government documents/law librarian at East Tennessee State University.

Stephen is a member of WAPC since 1982, and joined the church staff in 2012. He enjoys singing in the choir and serving on several committees, including as an Elder of Session. Stephen is in the office Wednesday through Friday wearing many hats at the same time by producing church bulletins, newsletters, and Facebook pages, as well as managing the WAPC website.

When not at church, Stephen is an avid reader, as well as a film buff, and researches so many branches of his family tree that he now maintains an entire genealogical forest. He “collects” amusing family names that he is happy to share.  He has also completed a study of the over 400 ministers found in his family tree.

Stephen Shanks, Director of Music

Stephen Shanks was born and raised in Johnson City. He graduated from ETSU with a degree in Music Education. Stephen taught music in the public schools for many years, including as band and choir director. In addition to directing the WAPC Chancel Choir, Stephen enjoys singing in various venues in the Tri-Cities area.

Stephen and his wife Sue are owners-managers of Anna Marie’s Florist shop in Johnson City. They have two married daughters. The Shanks live in a beautiful country setting where Stephen enjoys gardening, working with tools and appreciating the Tennessee countryside. They have two dogs and four cats who help run the farm.


Craig Campbell, Organist

Vacant, Church Maintenance


Elders of Session for 2022

Sherry Snodderly Bailey
Hugh Broome
Karen Clark
David Hughes
Richard Lura
Ed Snodderly
Marcia Songer
Susan Summers Turner, Clerk